Five Photos From… Las Fallas

I have no idea how I’m going to just choose five…

But here goes! I journeyed over to Valencia in Spain to hit up Las Fallas in March 2011, the annual festival of pyrotechnics, papier-mâché, partying and… Well I’m still not exactly sure what else! For five days the city is filled with gigantic “ninots” parodying current affairs, celebrities and all manner of things, and then all but one are ceremonially burnt to a crisp during “La Cremà” on the final night in a massive fiesta of flames. It’s truly the most unique experience of my life so far, and I can’t wait to experience it again!

Worryingly though, not enough people – here at least – seem to know what it is, so here’s five photos of the festivities as a taster.

Falla in Russafa, near to street of lights

Another Falla in the Russafa area of Valencia

Nightly fireworks display

Falla alight during La Crema

Egyptian style Falla in Russafa

All photos are copyright of Carl Forbes 2012.

4 responses to “Five Photos From… Las Fallas

  1. Pingback: That Time I Got My Sports Fix In Spain | That Time In…·

  2. Pingback: 2012 Top Awesome Travel Destinations by Travel Bloggers « Journeys and Travels·

  3. Pingback: Totally Travel Talk with Carl - Totally Sam's World | Totally Sam's World·

  4. Pingback: That Time I Revealed My Recent Valencia Adventure – In Photos | That Time In·

Have your say...

