Five Photos From… Doi Suthep, Chiang Mai

In 40 degree plus heat, me and Chelcie took an entertaining taxi ride up to the top of Doi Suthep in May…

We were keen to check out Chiang Mai’s towering temple and mountain top monastery, although we didn’t realise it was such an adventure to reach the top! It’s one hell of a road that snakes it’s way steeply to the top of the mountain, and I might have been clinging onto the arm rest in the taxi a little tightly…

Thankfully it was well worth the trip, and the temple shimmered stunningly in the Thai sunshine, whilst providing ace views of Chiang Mai below. If you’re in the North of Thailand, make sure you check it out! Here’s five photos for a taster…

I’m a dragon! I go “roar”!

Insert Spandau Ballet “Gold” lyrics here…

Greenery gets it’s turn too…

Interrupting the monks’ five minute Facebook break…

Shiny but ineffective umbrella. Wait, what?! Oh it’s not an umbrella…

All photos are copyright of Carl Forbes 2012.

4 responses to “Five Photos From… Doi Suthep, Chiang Mai

  1. Great shots Carl.
    I think Doi Suthep was one of my favourite temples in Asia actually! I went up at sunset and the whole area was in a yellow glow from the sunlight hitting the gold leaf – it looked epic!
    The view of Chang Mai lighting up at night was worth it too!

    • Thanks bud! Yeah was one of my faves too. Good thing with that drive up too ha!
      Seeing it at sunset would have been immense yeah, wish we’d thought of that, but we wanted to head to the zoo afterwards so ended up going quite early.
      Thanks for commenting too dude! πŸ™‚

  2. Your photos are great! I will be going to Thailand this winter, I can’t wait! I see you’ve visited quite much of Asia πŸ™‚ Traveling is a beautiful passion πŸ™‚

    • Awesome, hope you have a great time. Yeah I do love Asia, though I missed out some parts of South East Asia that most of my demographic seem to flock to. But yeah I can’t wait to head East again!

Have your say...

