Accom Review: BackHome, KL

Having looked for a tidy hostel in Kuala Lumpur, I was über delighted when BackHome happened to be 150m around the corner from the hotel we had been staying in…

Image Credit: Hostels.com

Image Credit: Hostels.com

The best part was that I hadn’t even realised that until we looked on a map just before leaving!

Nestled at the top end of Jalan Tun HS Lee, BackHome is built into a converted Chinese shophouse (I do love those!), but inside it’s a very modern installation. It’s also another hostel that has a slightly industrial deco feel to it, a theme that I saw in a few places in Asia. If you’ve stayed in Lub D’s Silom hostel in Bangkok you’ll have a good idea of this style.

It’s a theme that works well though, and with the open air courtyard, bridge and bathrooms it combines to make the hostel a pretty stylish affair. You can definitely feel that they went to a lot of effort when putting BackHome together that’s for sure.

The stylish feel also filters into the lounge/reception area. Although there’s not a great deal of seating – you’ll have to head to the courtyard for a more social atmosphere – there are two large leather sofas, a bookcase full of handy travel books, a few PCs and, get this… A MAC!

I can’t pretend the Mac lover in me wasn’t overjoyed to see this! Bonus points right there for BackHome!

You did sadly have to pay to use the Internet on these computers, which was a bit of a shame. And with the payment “system” being that you put a Ringgit in the pot next to your computer for every 15 minutes it was far too easy to abuse. Whilst I did pay, I have no doubt I didn’t pay correctly as I didn’t check how long I was on there. It’s one aspect that could do with some work. Wifi was thankfully free all throughout the hostel however.

Our dorm room was a six bed affair (wait, that sounds wrong…). Whilst quite sparse looking due to the style, each bed came with storage cabinets in the headboard – an awesome idea! The lockers provided were an excellent size too. Oh yeah and in a cool touch when you arrive you’ll find a BackHome tag on your bed reserving it and letting you know it’s been cleaned and checked. A really impressive extra detail!

On the slightly negative side though – ignoring the loud German woman anyhow – I didn’t like the fact that there was no barrier around the top bunks. That might just be me being a wuss, but surely people must have fallen from them in their sleep. Luckily I could just bunker up with Chelcie in the bottom bunk, so I never needed to sleep up there.

What else? The bathrooms were located across the courtyard (via a short bridge if you were upstairs). Although enclosed on three sides, these were still technically open air, and as such could get pretty warm. You’ll be glad for a cool shower! However they were also kept spotless as far as I saw and offered everything you would need.

There weren’t really any kitchen facilities barring a small sink, but as the hostel has a coffee shop right next door you’ll understand why this is. I never actually got round to trying out the coffee shop however simply because there’s so many decent places to grab food and drink in the area (Beef Noodles!). Toast is served for breakfast with a variety of spreads, which is more than adequate. And coffee and tea are available all day if that’s your thing.

Overall however I enjoyed my stay at BackHome, and it was part of a run of decent places we stayed in throughout Malaysia and Singapore. I loved the location, the helpful staff and the chilled vibe of the place. Whilst I had a few small issues with the hostel, I certainly wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again should I ever be back in KL. You could do a lot worse than checking it out.

Overall:

Bedrooms: 4/5
Bathrooms: 3/5
Kitchen: 0/5
Facilities: 4/5
Cleanliness: 5/5
Location: 5/5

Back Home: 30 Jalan Tun HS Lee, 50100, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Have your say...

