That Time I Finally Saw La Font Magica In Action

It took until my fourth visit to Barcelona to finally see Montjuïc’s magic fountain in action…

Thanks to my previous visits being in December, February and March* all I had got to see before was an inactive and bland – if large – circular pond. But this time visiting in the height of sweltering Spanish summer meant la Font Magica was well and truly up and running during Barcelona’s weekend evenings, and I wasn’t gonna miss out this time!

Not so exciting on a nippy February afternoon...

Not so exciting on a nippy February afternoon…

With us staying in my usual choice of Barcelona hostel it was a simple walk along Avinguda Paral·lel to Plaça d’Espanya, and then left onto Avinguda Maria Cristina to stroll up to the fountain.

Unsurprisingly several thousand other visitors to BCN had the same idea, and it looked pretty damn rammed around the fountain itself. We initially positioned ourself just down the steps from the fountain and over the road from it, but with an annoying amount of traffic passing by – including several buses rolling by slowly to let their passengers gawp at the show – it wasn’t long before we decided to get closer and see the action up close. It was a good decision.

Although the accompanying orchestral music might have sounded cheesy, my focus was only on the visual feast the fountain put on for everyone. With the water cannoning upwards to some seriously impressive heights it was one hell of a show, and the amazing lighting illuminated not just the fountain itself but the entire area around. The epic Museu National d’Art de Catalunya watching in the background also served to create an even more impressive scene. But hey why keep describing it when I can just show you…

Pre crossing the road...

Pre crossing the road…

Up close and personal during a mellow moment...

Up close and personal during a mellow moment…

SDF

Ka-BOOM!

FDDCV

Catching some spray up close…

FDGFGFGFG

Bring your sunglasses…

I was absolutely blown away by the spectacle of the fountain in full-flow. It’s safe to say the rest of the crowd were rather impressed too. Having decided to stick around for a second viewing of the show, I was then lucky to nab a spot standing on a wall, giving me a storming view of the entire area. And only then did I realise just how well-attended the light show was…

It's one well attended spectacle!

Get your elbows ready!

Potentially the world's strongest bidet...

Potentially the world’s strongest bidet…

Technicolour baby!

Technicolour baby!

I can’t believe it took me so long to check out one of these displays. I absolutely loved it! It was awesome entertainment on a swell summer evening in Barcelona. A true visual feast, make sure you take a camera and get snapping! Heck, sights like this are a big part of the reason I’ve now made the jump to a DSLR, and I can’t wait to get back to BCN later this year and do this spectacle much more justice with my shots.

So yeah, make sure you set aside at least one evening for checking out Montjuïc’s Font Magica. You won’t regret it!

* Displays do actually happen in winter too, but only on Friday and Saturday nights! I had no idea about this until this most my recent visit… D’oh! As such, you can catch musical light shows at the Font Magica at:

  • 21:00 – 23:30, Thursday to Sunday from 30th April to 30th September
  • 19:00 – 21:00, Friday and Saturday from 1st October to 30th April (plus Thursday and Sundays at Christmas and Easter)

Have you seen one of the light displays at la Font Magica? What did you think?

6 responses to “That Time I Finally Saw La Font Magica In Action

  1. Loved this magic fountain show while I was in Barcelona too! Spent ages just sitting there staring in disbelief!

    • Ah that is a shame! Hopefully you can catch it again at some point. I know it’s fairly cheesy, but I do love it 🙂

Have your say...

