Five Photos From… City of Arts & Sciences, Valencia

It’s the piece of eye candy that put Valencia back in the big time…

And deservedly so (even if it did come at a cost)!

Santiago Calatrava’s stunning City of Arts & Sciences in Valencia really is a pretty incredible piece of architecture. Walking around it is like visiting a town from another planet, and it really will take your breath away.

It’s incredibly photogenic too, and I was lucky enough to visit on a gloriously sunny Saturday during my time in Valencia. Whilst I want to get back and snap it at night, here’s five of my fave pics from my first visit to Valencia’s futuristic monoliths…

L'Agora from L'Oceanogràfic

L’Agora from L’Oceanogràfic

L'Hemisfèric with El Museu de les Ciències Príncipe Felipe behind

L’Hemisfèric with the Museu de les Ciències Príncipe Felipe behind

L'Agora & Pont de l'Assut de l'Or

L’Agora & Pont de l’Assut de l’Or

L'Oceanogràfic

L’Oceanogràfic

Back of the El Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía

Back of the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía

All photos are copyright of Carl Forbes 2012, 2013.

8 responses to “Five Photos From… City of Arts & Sciences, Valencia

  1. It really is awesome, and I couldn’t have caught it on a better day. I was very stoked with that! Now I just need to snap it when it’s lit up at night 🙂

    • Thanks Jess! I couldn’t recommend Valencia more, such a great city. Similar to BCN in a lot of ways, although the beach is a bit more detached from the city. I’m desperate to get back there myself, so I hope you make it there soon!

  2. Awesome building – so sleek and interesting! I love the second shot in particular; from that angle, it looks like the building is emerging straight out of the water.

    • It truly is an awesome spectacle! It’s just a shame that so many Spaniards now see it as a big part of the “vanity project” that helped get their country into financial trouble. But when you see it in person you can’t help but be blown away!

Have your say...

