Five Photos From… Futarasan Shrine, Nikko, Japan

They say if you haven’t been to Nikko then you don’t know the true meaning of magnificent…

Well it wasn’t very magnificent on the day I took the train up there! Torrential rain all damn day!

But I was always determined to see more than just Tokyo on my Japanese adventure, and heading for the renowned World Heritage Β shrines and temples of Tochigi prefecture’s scenic capital was a top way to see some of traditional Japan.

And after my night in a traditional Japanese minshuku the weather had brightened up significantly! Hooray! Here’s five of my faves from the Futarasan Shrine…

fgdgff

Entry pagoda to Futarasan Shrine

Showing respect at Futarasan shrine

Showing respect

sdsd

Divine Lightning

sdsd

Rows of ema (wooden wishing plaques)

sdsds

Archway just inside the entry of the Futarasan Shrine

All photos are copyright of Carl Forbes 2013.

3 responses to “Five Photos From… Futarasan Shrine, Nikko, Japan

    • Thanks Jess. This was my first proper go with my new camera so I was glad I managed to get a few decent ones πŸ™‚

Have your say...

