Accom Review: Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki, Tokyo

With me booking flights to Japan a few months in advance, I gave myself a pretty good range of accommodation options to choose from…

Cosy common room and kitchen

Cosy common room and kitchen

Of course I was always going to head down the hostel route, as I was massively looking forward to getting back into the backpacker bubble.

And when searching for hostels in Tokyo it won’t take long before you stumble across the Khaosan group of hostels. With several locations in the Asakusa area – exactly where I wanted to be – it ended up being an easy sell. And their Kabuki guesthouse/hostel looked by far the best of the lot…

Heck they even say it themselves! So I was confident I’d picked a good place.

Thankfully there wasn’t even a hint of disappointment once I’d checked in. Yes Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki is easily one of the best places I’ve stayed while on the road!

Where to start? Well it’s in a prime location for easy access, with direct trains bringing you to Asakusa from Haneda Airport, and also taking you from Asakusa to Narita Airport. Ideal if, like me, you’re landing in Japan for the first time.

And within Asakusa the hostel is located literally seconds from the famous Kaminarimon gate and Nakamise-Dori shopping street, which of course leads up to the beautiful Senso-ji temple. So some of Tokyo’s most famous sights are pretty much on your doorstep.

Inside the hostel doors (remember to take your shoes off – it’s tatami flooring!) you’ll find the cosy lounge/common room and kitchen on the ground floor. The lounge part is kitted out with a large LCD TV, 3 PCs for your use (WiFi is available throughout the hostel too), vending machine and ALL the information you could hope to find about Tokyo, whilst you can make use of the fridge, microwave, oven and masses of utensils in the kitchen. Ideal for keeping costs down in pricey Tokyo!

In case you need your J-Pop fix!

Get comfy and get your J-Pop fix!

There’s a large luggage storage cupboard available too on the ground floor, should you need to leave some kit behind for a few days like I did.

All the dorm rooms inside Kabuki are 4 bed affairs. And they are COMFY beds! I was out like a light on my first night in Kabuki due to the cosy mattresses (and not at all due to the fact that I went 32 hours without sleep!) and added bonus of… A proper quilt! Anytime you get a proper quilt in a hostel that’s a massive plus in my eyes – heck, I’ve only had it once before – and I was seriously delighted to see that on my bed when I checked in! The only shame was that after my first night I had two awful nights of sleep due to a room-mate snoring as loud as a chainsaw, but that’s not the hostel’s fault.

The bedrooms were also impeccably spotless as they were scrubbed to perfection every day. The only issue that stops me from rating the bedrooms perfect were the fairly small lockers, although for me these weren’t a problem as I was travelling with two small backpacks (yes, I did Japan travelling light!). You definitely wouldn’t be squeezing the average traveller’s backpack in them however.

How about the bathrooms? Well that’s where Kabuki plays it’s ace card – Every dorm room has an en-suite bathroom!

Yep, no need to share with the rest of the hostel, just the other few members of your dorm. You’ll find a toilet room (hi-tech Japanese toilet of course!), shower room and sink/wash basin inside each room. Whilst they’re all small spaces – this is Japan remember – every bit of kit looks brand new and works perfectly. So no chance of a cold trickle for a shower here! I was stoked with this, as it’s practically a luxury compared to every other hostel I’ve ever stayed in. And of course, you’ll return to find these looking spotless every day.

Whilst facilities wise Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki made a pretty damn good impression on me, it was topped off perfectly by the amazing staff. Amazingly helpful and always smiling, they remembered me by name after I returned from Nikko for my second stay, and I’d only stayed there briefly for one night before that. The common room is plastered in tips and recommendations from the staff, and there’s various little leaflets all around such as train timetables and routes they’ve prepared to make everyone’s stay a great one. I have to give a particular shout out to Eriko, Kana and Takako for being incredibly helpful and friendly, and for translating my t-shirt too!

Oh and on the social front, you’ll likely meet plenty of people in the common room, but they’ll provide you with a free sake when you first arrive at the Khaosan Hanabi bar just over the river. Get over there and get chatting!

So as you might be able to tell, Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki made a rather good impression on me. I felt right at home from the moment I checked in. It was amazingly clean with some of the friendliest staff I’ve come across, and in a perfect location in what I thought was easily one of the most interesting areas of Tokyo I visited. What more could you ask for?

Overall:

Bedrooms: 4/5
Bathrooms: 5/5
Kitchen: 4/5
Facilities: 5/5
Cleanliness: 6/5 (not a typo)
Location: 5/5

Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki:Β 1-1 7-2 Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo 111-0032, Japan

14 responses to “Accom Review: Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki, Tokyo

  1. hI,
    i was planning to stay there, already booked, but my friend ask me to stay at her apartment. so, i think i” cancel my booking. πŸ™‚
    at least, i already booked a nice place from your rating πŸ˜€

    • Ah that’s a shame, but you can’t turn down a free place to stay I guess. Hope you enjoy Tokyo πŸ™‚

      • oww, no, no, i can’t. i really want to, but you know for a close friend who has been separated for 10 years. LOL.
        ow, thank you, i’ll enjoy it to the fullest.
        have you been at Kyoto and Osaka?

        • Hope you guys have a good time catching up! πŸ™‚

          I’ve only been to Tokyo and Nikko so far, as I only had a week on this visit. Definitely planning to return though and Kyoto is top of my wishlist.

          • Thank you Carl,
            we are planning to have a week visit too. hope you could fulfill your wishlist. that’s always be a fun thing. πŸ™‚
            Cheers πŸ™‚

  2. That was a good find. I might have seen that on Hostelworld but I aimed for Asakusa and one of the hostels there. urg. My hostel was a dive but it was one of the cheapest.

    • I didn’t really pay much attention to any others once I’d seen this one come to think of it. Thankfully it turned out to be a good choice ha!

  3. My friend and I have booked a room for ourselves for in August! We only plan on staying for three days as we wanted to experience the Tokyo area on our own for a bit and will be staying with a friend for the duration of our stay. Khaosan Kabuki ended up being our choice due to their traditional futon beds and private washrooms. This review makes me even more excited for the upcoming trip, however we plan on bringing a suitcase each. Will bringing such a large piece of luggage pose as an issue for this hostel (transport and leaving behind while exploring) or should we be fine?

    • Hey Sammi. Well I didn’t stay in the tatami room so couldn’t comment on the futon beds, but your suitcase won’t be a problem – Plenty of guests while I was there had suitcases. You can store them under the bed if you end up in a bunk bed room. Oh and there’s an elevator, so it won’t be a problem getting them up to the room whatever floor you’re on. Plus if you need to leave some luggage behind for a few days they have a large luggage storage room. So that won’t cause you any problems πŸ™‚

      Glad you enjoyed the review too!

  4. Pingback: That Time I’d Had Enough of Budget Backpacking…? | That Time In·

    • That’s a shame. I did stay in Khaosan Tokyo Original on my last night too and that was a lot smaller and older, although I did still like it. But yeah Kabuki is awesome. I’m definitely heading back there when I return to Tokyo. Unless I’m rich then and can splurge on luxury ha! πŸ˜€

Have your say...

