Five Photos From… Tokyo Tower

I wasn’t even going to go up the Tokyo Tower…

I just thought I’d have a wander over to it and take some snaps from beneath.

But then I realised it was a beautifully clear Friday night in Tokyo, and it must be worth taking the trip up and checking out the view. I was so glad I did…

It might be easily mistaken for a red and white version of the Eiffel Tower, but Tokyo’s version is actually 13m taller (333m to 320m). Doubling up as one of the main TV antennae for the Kanto region, a trip up to the main observatory provides a 360 degree view of the sprawling city surrounding it, and it’s a true sight to behold at night.

I spent a good hour up there snapping away. Here’s five of my faves from the Tokyo Tower!

The tower illuminated, from the base.

The tower illuminated, from the base.

fdfs

Busy downtown Tokyo traffic.

Sprawling Tokyo

Sprawling Tokyo lights.

dsfsdf

Football pitch standing out in the urban sprawl.

Miniature tower models with messages, found in the lower courtyard.

Miniature tower models with messages, found in the lower courtyard.

All photos are copyright of Carl Forbes 2012, 2013.

5 responses to “Five Photos From… Tokyo Tower

  1. My dream! I can’t wait to one day to go Tokyo! How much did it cost to go up? I know Japan can be a bit expensive…

    • Hey Aryn! Hope you get there soon. Tokyo is ace indeed. But it can also be quite expensive yeah! I think I paid something like ¥820 to go up to the observation deck. I couldn’t be bothered with the special observation deck though, and I don’t think many people did. But the tower was definitely worth the visit 🙂

    • I didn’t no, although I saw plenty of it from Asakusa. It was pretty cloudy on the evenings I was free – except this one when I went to the Tokyo Tower – so I wasn’t that tempted to be honest. Gives me something to do next time though 🙂

      Have you been up the SkyTree?

Have your say...

