Five Photos From… Barcelona Graffiti

I’ve always said that Barcelona has a great street art scene…

And some of the best examples of this come in the form of the shop shutters dotted around the city – rather than just being bland, steel structures you’ll see that several have decorated by local graffiti artists.

Of course these aren’t (generally) crass, messy examples of graffiti scrawled on by wannabe vandals looking to make their mark, but professional pieces that act as another stand-out way to promote that business.

It’s easy to find several examples if you stroll through La Ribera and the Barri Gotic on a Sunday, or early in the morning before opening time. Here’s five examples I found from a Sunday wander.

A novel look for a stylish salon...

A novel look for a stylish salon…

A local bar gets the spray-can touch.

A local bar gets the spray-can touch.

Famous faces make an appearance in paint.

Famous faces make an appearance in paint.

A Japanese restaurant gets a seafood themed piece.

A Japanese restaurant gets a seafood themed piece.

A samba flavoured piece.

A samba flavoured piece – perfect for a Brazilian percussion boutique.

All photos are copyright of Carl Forbes 2012, 2013.

4 responses to “Five Photos From… Barcelona Graffiti

  1. I haven’t seen any real good street arts in Barcelona, but wow these are amazing. Maybe I have to get up early to see them! Great pics Carl!

  2. These are really incredible graffiti Carl 🙂 I have been collecting photos of Moroccan graffiti for an upcoming post too. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • No problem 🙂 I wish I’d had time to get some more, as there were plenty of other examples I saw when I didn’t have my camera with me too!

Have your say...

