That Time I Revealed My Recent Valencia Adventure

¡Hola todos! ¿Y qué tal hoy?

Wondering why it suddenly went quiet for a couple of weeks yet again? Well that’s just par for the course on here this year really to be honest. My bad!

This time around I had a very good reason for it however – I took myself back off to Spain again!

On three days notice.

Nice!

And better yet, if you read my recent post on places I’d love to return to, you may have noticed that Valencia happened to be the number one on that list.

So I decided to give that list item one massive tick!

Double nice!

If you’ve read a fair few of my Spain posts on here previously you’ll be aware that it’s the country I seem to have the deepest connection with by far. And whilst I’m working through this funny time at the moment it felt like exactly where I needed to be to clear my mind and recharge my positivity (as it still does now I’m home).

Safe to say beautiful Valencia did a pretty fantastic job of that, with the glorious weather, fantastic food, friendly people and superb sights I took in all contributing to help me recharge and refresh. And to think I was worried about returning after my amazing first visit

So what did I get up to? Well if you’ve been following my recent pics on Instagram you’ll have got a bit of an idea already. But rather than write it all down, I figured I’ll take you through my wonderful reunion with Valencia in photos!

Click on any photo to enlarge.

I stayed in the ace Home Youth Hostel - complete with awesome wall art in my room...

I arrived and got settled into the ace Home Youth Hostel – complete with awesome wall art…

...and a balcony looking straight down onto Calle de la Lonja below.

…and a balcony looking straight down onto Calle de la Lonja below.

First things first - straight off to Mestalla...

First things first – straight off to Mestalla…

...to watch VCF beat Atlético Madrid 3-1! Amunt!

…to watch VCF beat Atlético Madrid 3-1! Amunt!

I then spent a chilled Saturday night eating pintxos...

I then spent a chilled Saturday night eating pintxos and people watching.

Next morning I decided to head out on a walking tour...

Next morning I decided to head out on a walking tour.

The autumnal Spanish sun was lighting up the warm hues of the city's buildings.

The autumnal Spanish sun was lighting up the warm hues of the city’s buildings.

...and saw several citizens preparing for Nou d'Octubre - four days away!

Several citizens were out preparing for Nou d’Octubre celebrations – four days away!

Thanks to that, Plaza de la Virgen was full of noise and festivity - just as I always remembered it!

As such, Plaza de la Virgen was full of noise and festivity – just as I remembered it!

Heading off for a solo wander I came across locals dancing on Plaza del Doctor Collado

Heading off for a solo wander I came across locals dancing on Plaça del Doctor Collado.

The rest of the day was spent reacquainting myself with this stunning city.

The rest of the day was spent reacquainting myself with this stunning city.

I got to make the most of the quieter Sunday streets.

I got to make the most of the quieter Sunday streets.

Looking out for the finer details.

And look out for the small touches.

Major plaza or quirky calle... I love strolling this city.

Major plaza or quirky calle… Gotta love strolling the centre and El Carmen.

Monday morning meant it was time to get some snaps of the gorgeous Mercat Central.

The next morning meant it was time to get some snaps of the gorgeous Mercat Central.

It's the perfect place to catch a glimpse of local Valencian life.

It’s the perfect place to catch a glimpse of local Valencian life.

And of course the market displays always make ace photography subjects.

And of course market displays always make ace photography subjects.

Because they're just so full of colours and shapes.

Because they’re just so full of colours and shapes.

Then it was time for a treat - to do the Mestalla tour!

Then it was time for a treat – the Mestalla stadium tour!

I even put myself in front of the camera for once!

I even put myself in front of the camera for once!

Afternoon came around, so I headed up the Torre del Micalet to scope out the views over VLC.

Afternoon came around, so I headed up the Torre del Micalet to scope out the views over VLC.

As the day drew to a close I got my walking shoes on...

As the day drew to a close I got my walking shoes on…

...to revisit the stunning Ciutat de les Art y Ciencies.

…to revisit the stunning Ciutat de les Artes y Ciencies.

I even tried using my camera properly for once... I love this place!

I even tried using my camera properly for once… I love this place!

And that was a pretty perfect way to end my brilliant return to VLC. It was off to catch my train... ¡Hasta luego!

And that was a pretty perfect way to end my return to this awesome city! ¡Hasta luego VLC!

Have you visited Valencia recently? Did you love it as much as I did?

All photos are copyright of Carl Forbes 2014.

3 responses to “That Time I Revealed My Recent Valencia Adventure

    • Thanks muchly! The night one was a little grainier than I would have liked, but practice will make perfect I’m sure. I’m glad I got to go back there with a better camera this time anyhow.

  1. I went on a lads holiday in 2005 and liked the bars in one particular street (Caballero?) – I remember one was a Flintstones themed bar, and another had a reptile enclosure in the gents. A lot of character in that street! Do these bars ring a bell?

Have your say...

